Anatoli Kartashov (1960
    Group) signed cover
Autographed photos
from astronauts and cosmonauts.
>> See collection

Autographed covers
from all manned spaceflights.
>> See collection

Space flown material
and other rare space related items.
>> See collection

Discover the history
behind the russian shuttle program.
>> See collection

The history behind
the russian unflown cosmonauts.
>> See collection

Browse thru my
space cover and photo catalogue.
>> See catalogue

Beware of autopens
and learn how to detect them.
>> See tips


Unflown American Astronauts...

NASA Selection Group 1 (1959)

Unlinke the first russian selection group of 1960, all the seven members of the first american group of astronauts selected by NASA in 1959 eventually made a spaceflight, with Deke Slayton performing the last one with the ASTP mission in 1975.

NASA Selection Group 2 (1962)

The second astronaut selection group, presented by NASA in 1962 included the first name that was assigned to space missions but never eventually made a spaceflight. It was Elliott See, backup pilot of Gemini 5 mission and later assigned for Gemini 9 mission. See was killed in an T-38 training airplane crash on February 28, 1966.

NASA Selection Group 3 (1963)

From the third astronaut selection group, presented by NASA in 1963, with 14 names, only 4 never made it into space. They were Theodore Freeman (killed in T-38 airplane crash), Charles Bassett (killed in T-38 airplane crash), Clifton Williams (killed in T-38 airplane crash) and Roger Chaffee (killed in Apollo 1 fire).

NASA Selection Group 4 (1965)

The small fourth astronaut selection group, presented by NASA in 1965, included only six names, and from those only Duane Graveline and Frank Michel never flown into space.

NASA Selection Group 5 (1966)

The fifth astronaut selection group, presented by NASA in 1966, included 19 names, and from those only two never made a spaceflight, they were Edward Givens and John Bull.

NASA Selection Group 6 (1967)

The sixth astronaut selection group, presented by NASA in 1967, included 11 names, and many never actually flew neither in the Apollo missions or the later Skylab or even the space shuttle missions. The unflown astronauts were John Llewellyn, Philip Chapman, Donald Holmquest and Brian O'Leary.

And this concludes the list of unflown astronauts up to the 1978 selection, because all of the names selected by NASA in Group 7 (1969) flew in the space shuttle program.

The first unflown astronauts from NASA were:

Astronaut Born Selection date Retirement Died
Elliott M. See 23.07.1927 17.09.1962 - 28.02.1966
Theodore Freeman 18.02.1930 17.10.1963 - 31.10.1964
Charles Bassett 30.12.1931 17.10.1963 - 28.02.1966
Clifton Williams 26.09.1932 17.10.1963 - 05.10.1967
Roger Chaffee 15.02.1935 17.10.1963 - 27.01.1967
Duane Graveline 02.03.1931 28.06.1965 18.08.1965 -
Frank Michel 05.06.1934 28.06.1965 04.08.1969 -
Edward Givens 05.01.1930 04.04.1966 - 06.06.1967
John Bull 25.09.1934 04.04.1966 16.07.1968 -
John Llewellyn 22.04.1932 04.08.1967 06.09.1968 -
Philip Chapman 05.03.1935 04.08.1967 31.07.1972 -
Donald Holmquest 07.04.1939 04.08.1967 30.09.1973 -
Brian O'Leary 27.01.1940 04.08.1967 23.04.1968 -

The MOL project (1965)

The Manned Orbital Laboratory (MOL) was part of the United States Air Force's manned spaceflight program, a successor to the cancelled X-20 Dyna-Soar project. It was announced to the public on the same day that the Dyna-Soar program was cancelled, December 10, 1963. Initially, the MOL was intended to prove the utility of man in space for military missions. However, the program was redirected in the mid-1960s and developed as a space station used for reconnaissance purposes. The space station used the Gemini B spacecraft that was derived from NASA's Gemini program. The contractor for the MOL was the Douglas Aircraft Company. The Gemini B/MOL craft was externally similar to NASA's Gemini spacecraft although it underwent several modifications. The most obvious was the addition of a circular hatch through the heat shield to allow passage between the spacecraft and the laboratory.

The MOL program was cancelled in June 1969 when it was determined the capabilities of unmanned spy satellites met or exceeded the capabilities of manned MOL missions. There were 14 MOL astronauts in the program when it was cancelled, and NASA offered those under 35 years of age the opportunity to transfer to the NASA astronaut program. Seven of the 14 MOL astronauts were younger than 35 and took the offer: Richard H. Truly, Karol J. Bobko, Robert Crippen, C. Gordon Fullerton, Henry W. Hartsfield, Robert F. Overmyer, and Donald Peterson. All eventually flew on the Space Shuttle.

From the 3 MOL selection groups (1965, 1966 and 1967) the following names never flew into space:

Astronaut Born Selection date Retirement Died
Albert Crews 23.03.1929 12.11.1965 10.06.1969 -
Michael Adams 05.05.1930 12.11.1965 10.06.1969 15.11.1967
James Taylor 27.11.1930 12.11.1965 10.06.1969 04.09.1970
Lachlan Macleay 13.06.1931 12.11.1965 10.06.1969 -
John Finley 22.11.1935 12.11.1965 30.04.1968 19.09.2006
Francis Neubeck 11.04.1932 12.11.1965 10.06.1969 -
Richard Lawyer 08.11.1932 12.11.1965 10.06.1969 11.02.2005
Robert Herres 01.12.1932 30.06.1967 10.06.1969 -
James Abrahamson 19.05.1933 30.06.1967 10.06.1969 -
Robert Lawrence 02.10.1935 30.06.1967 - 08.12.1967
   Copyright 2005 Pedro Amaral. All Rights Reserved. Design by Interspire